Maui Nui Marine Resource Council, a Waterkeeper Alliance Affiliate


[email protected]
(808) 707-5056

“Maui Nui” refers to a political and geological subset of the Hawaiian Islands that comprises a cluster of four islands: Maui, Molokaʻi, Lānaʻi and Kahoʻolawe. The term Maui Nui or “Greater Maui,” references the prehistoric Hawaiian Island built from seven shield volcanoes. The federally managed Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary is within the waters of Maui Nui, where about 60 percent of an estimated 20,000 humpback whales that live in the North Pacific visit each year. Over the past three decades, Maui’s rapidly growing residential population and increasing number of visitors have had significant negative impacts on the internal waters and coral reefs of Maui Nui. This impact is partly due to a high rate of land development, shoreline change and engineering, coastal residential housing construction and commercial development.


PO Box 331204
Kahului, Hawaii 96733